Do You Know the Age Limit for Booster Seats in Your State?
 

Do You Know the Age and Weight Limit for Booster Seats in Your State?

Booster Seat Laws

All of the states in America have made it mandatory to have approved car booster seats for children under specified ages, heights and weight. Each state has its own definition of what is considered to be safe and at what point a child may begin to use adult safety restraints versus a booster seat. Do you know the weight limit for booster seats in your state? If not, here is all of the information that you will need for compliance with the laws in your state.

Booster Seat

CLICK TO SEE ON AMAZON

Alabama – Children who are either over 40 pounds or at least 5 but not yet 6 must be in a booster seat.

Alaska – Children ages 4-7 (20-64 pounds and under 57″ tall) must always be secured in a proper safety seat.

Arizona – Children ages 5-7 (and under 57″) must be in a proper kept safety seat.

Arkansas -Children under age 5 who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in a proper safety seat.

California – Children under age 5 or children who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in a safety seat in the back seat.

Colorado – Children ages 4 to 7 must be in a booster seat.

Connecticut – Children under age 6 who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in a proper safety seat (booster seats can only be used in a seating position where there is a lap and shoulder belt available).

Delaware – Children under age 7 who weigh less than 66 pounds must be in a proper safety seat.

Florida – Children ages 3 and under must be in proper safety seat.

Georgia – Children under age 8 must be in a safety seat in a rear seat if available.

Hawaii – Children ages 4 through 7 must be in a booster seat or child restraint.

Idaho – Children ages 6 and under must be in proper safety seat.

Illinois – Infants through children age 7 must be restrained in a proper safety seat.

Indiana – Children ages 7 and under must be in a proper child safety seat

Iowa – Children ages 1 to 5 must be in a proper child safety seat.

Children ages 6 through 17 must be in a child safety seat or safety belt.

Kansas – Children ages 3 and under are required to be in a proper child safety seat.

Kentucky– Children ages 7 and under who are between 40 and 57 inches in height must use
a booster seat.

Louisiana – Children ages 4 through 5 or children who weigh 40 to 60 pounds must be in a booster seat.

Maine – Children weighing 40 to 80 pounds and who are less than 8 years of age must be in a safety system that allows an adult seatbelt to fit properly.

Maryland – Children 7 years and younger or less than 57 inches tall must be in a child safety seat.

Massachusetts – Children ages 7 and younger and less than 57 inches tall must ride in a child safety seat.

Michigan – Children ages 7 and under and less than 57″ in height must use a child safety seat.

Minnesota – Children ages 7 and younger and under 57″ must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

Mississippi– Children ages 4 through 6 and either less than 57 inches or less than 65 pounds must be in a booster seat.

Missouri– Children ages 4-7 who weigh at least 40 but less than 80 pounds and who are 4’9″ or shorter must be secured by either a car seat or booster seat. Children who weigh at least 80 pounds or who are 4’9″ or taller must be secured by either a booster seat or a seat belt.

Montana– Infants through children age 5 who weigh less than 60 pounds must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

Nebraska– Infants through children age 5 must be properly restrained in a child safety seat.

Nevada– Infants through children age 5 who weigh 60 pounds or less must be restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

New Hampshire– Children ages 6 and under and less than 57 inches in height must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

New Jersey– Children ages 7 and under and weighing less than 80 pounds must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat in the backseat if available.

New Mexico– Children ages 1 through 4 years or who weigh less than 40 pounds must be in a child safety seat.Children ages 5 through 6 or who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in a booster seat.

New York– Infants through children age 3 must be restrained in an appropriate child safety seat, unless they weigh more than 40 pounds and are seated where there is no available lap/shoulder belt.

Children ages 4 through 7, unless they are seated where there is no available lap/shoulder belt.

North Carolina – Infants through children age 7 who weigh less than 80 pounds must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat in all seating positions.

North Dakota – Children who are 6 years and younger and less than 57 inches or less than 80 pounds must use a child safety seat.
Ohio– Children 4 through 7 years who weigh 40 pounds or more and who are shorter than 57 inches must be in a booster seat.

Oklahoma– Children at least 4 and up to 8 years old and under 4 feet 9 inches must use a booster seat.

Oregon– Children weighing 40 pounds or less are required to use an appropriate child safety seat.

Children weighing more than 40 pounds but who are 4′ 9″ or less or under age 8 must be in a booster seat.

Pennsylvania– Children ages four and older, but under the age of eight must be buckled into a booster seat, which must be secured to the vehicle by the seat belt system, no matter where they ride in the vehicle (front or back seat). Booster seats must be used in conjunction with lap and shoulder belts.

Rhode Island– Children ages 7 and under who are less than 57 inches in height and who weigh less than 80 pounds must use an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat if possible.

South Carolina– Children ages 1-5 who weigh 40 to 80 pounds must use a booster seat secured by both a lap and shoulder belt in the back seat.

South Dakota– Infants through children age 5 who weigh less than 40 pounds must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

Tennessee– Children ages 4 to 8 and less than 4′ 9″ tall must use a booster seat in the rear seat if available.

Texas– Children ages 7 and under and less than 57 inches in height must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

Utah– Children ages 7 and under and less than 57 inches in height must be properly restrained in an appropriate child seat.

Vermont– Children ages 2 to 7 who weigh more than 20 pounds must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

Virginia– Children ages 7 and under must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat. They should be in rear-facing devices in the back seat if possible, and in the front seat only if the front passenger airbag is deactivated.

Washington– Children ages 7 and under who are less than 4′ 9″ tall must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

Washington DC– Children ages 7 and under must be secured in a proper safety seat.

West Virginia– Infants through children age 7 who are less than 4′ 9″ must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.

Wisconsin– Children ages 4 to 8 – between 40 and 80 lbs. and no more than 4 ft. 9 in. – must ride in the back on a booster seat, or they can ride in a forward-facing or rear-facing car seat – if so equipped.

Wyoming– Infants through children age 8 must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat if possible.

The above information is a complete listing of the child restraint laws with regard specifically to booster seats laws for each state. There is a wide variation in the language from state to state.

Back to Top